Wholesale only. Adults 21 and older. Pricing quoted per order.

How to buy wholesale kratom

Is Kratom Legal in New York?

Yes. Kratom is legal statewide in New York for adults 21 and over, with ID checks and a posted warning sign required. A label law takes effect December 19, 2026 and requires the amounts of mitragynine and 7-OH on every product. A bill to ban products with 7-OH above 2% of alkaloids or 1 mg per serving has passed both houses but is not signed, and a growing list of counties ban or restrict sales.

Last verified . General information, not legal advice.

What changed recently

  1. Gov. Hochul signed Ch. 690 (21+ sales) and Ch. 655 (labeling), each with agreed chapter amendments.
  2. Chapter amendments signed: Ch. 81 moved the age law to Public Health Law 1399-xx with a 180-day delay, and Ch. 12 expanded label contents.
  3. Nassau County announced its legislature had passed a ban on kratom sale and distribution.
  4. The Senate passed S8925-A, the 7-OH cap bill, 61-0. The Assembly passed it on June 5.
  5. An Oneida County public health order on kratom sales took effect.
  6. The 21+ law took effect about June 17, 2026. This date is computed from the 180-day delay and not stated in a primary source.
  7. Suffolk County Local Law 23-2026 was filed with the Secretary of State and took effect.
  8. Oneida County signed a local law banning sales of kratom and kratom-derived products.
  9. An Albany County public health order banning sales of all kratom products took effect, per news reports.
  10. Dutchess County signed a ban on concentrated and synthetic 7-OH. Rensselaer County signed a sales ban, reported October 2.
  11. GBL 398-g label rules take effect.

The New York rules in detail

21+ sales, ID checks and signs

No person or kratom business, wholesale or retail, may knowingly sell or provide kratom to anyone under 21. Sellers must check photo ID. You may skip the check if the buyer reasonably appears 25 or older, but that is no defense if the buyer is underage.

Stores must post “SALE OF KRATOM TO PERSONS UNDER TWENTY-ONE YEARS OF AGE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW” on a white card in red letters at least 1/2 inch high. Online stores, apps and print ads need the same line in red 12-point type. The law defines kratom to include synthesized or semi-synthesized mitragynine and 7-OH.

Label rules from December 19, 2026

GBL 398-g covers anyone who makes, distributes, sells or offers kratom at retail in New York, so wholesale distributors are in scope. Each label must show:

  • Name and address of the manufacturer or distributor.
  • A full ingredient list.
  • That sale to anyone under 21 is prohibited.
  • Advice against use if pregnant or breastfeeding, and to consult a health-care professional.
  • That the product may be addictive and may interact with medications, drugs and controlled substances.
  • Whether it contains semi-synthesized or synthesized kratom compounds.
  • The quantity of mitragynine and 7-OH.
  • The FDA not-evaluated disclaimer and a keep-out-of-reach-of-children statement.

The final font size and placement rules after the 2026 amendment were not confirmed.

7-OH: no cap yet, one on the way

No statewide 7-OH cap is in force, and 7-OH is not on New York’s controlled-substance schedules. S8925-A would bar any business, including online platforms, from knowingly selling or delivering a product with 7-OH above 2% of total alkaloids or above 1 mg per serving. It would take effect 90 days after signing, and the Governor must act by the end of 2026. S9322, which would put 7-OH in Schedule I, is in Senate committee.

Testing and licensing

The state sets no lab standard and no seller license. Printing exact mitragynine and 7-OH amounts still takes a lab report for each lot, and Suffolk County requires accredited third-party testing of every batch. See how to read a kratom lab report.

Other pending bills

Bills in committee would ban synthesized kratom and vape forms (S10514/A10969), ban kratom and 7-OH in food or drinks from January 1, 2027 (A9114/S8686), limit ads near schools, list kratom in Schedule I (A4034), or create a Kratom Consumer Protection Act (S8136/A8693).

Local rules inside New York

State law is not the whole picture. Cities and counties can add their own rules, and some already have.

  • Suffolk County. Local Law 23-2026: 21+, no synthesized, adulterated, vape or injectable kratom, a 2% 7-OH cap for food and drink products, and accredited lab testing of every batch. A knowing violation is a misdemeanor. In effect since August 17, 2026.
  • Nassau County. The County Legislature passed a ban on kratom sale and distribution, announced March 9, 2026. The law number, effective date and exact scope were not confirmed.
  • Oneida County. Local law banning sales of kratom and kratom-derived products, signed August 19, 2026. FDA-approved or prescription kratom is exempt.
  • Albany County. Public health order banning sales of all kratom products, natural leaf included, from September 1, 2026, per news reports. How long it lasts was not confirmed.
  • Washington County. Local Law No. 5 of 2026 prohibits the sale of kratom and products containing it. Dates were not shown.
  • Dutchess County. Ban on sale and distribution of concentrated and synthetic 7-OH, signed in September 2026, per news reports. A full kratom ban was rejected.
  • Rensselaer County. A county sales ban was approved 15-2 and signed, per a news report of October 2, 2026. Its scope was not stated.
  • Saratoga County. A public hearing on a ban was reportedly set for October 14, 2026. The outcome is not known.
  • New York City. No separate city ban was found. The city health department enforces the state 21+ law.

Enforcement and penalties

The Department of Health enforces the 21+ law outside New York City, and the city health department enforces it inside the city, after a hearing. The statute sets a civil penalty of up to $500 per violation, and each day without the required sign counts as a separate violation. Misuse of ID-scan data can cost up to $1,000 per violation. The label law sets up to $500 for a first violation and up to $1,000 for each later one, but the text read does not name the enforcing agency.

If S8925-A is signed, the Attorney General could seek up to $500 for a first violation and $1,000 for each later one. In Suffolk County a knowing violation is an unclassified misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both. Penalties in other counties come from county releases and news reports, so confirm them with New York counsel.

Federal context

Federal rules sit on top of state law. As of the sources we reviewed on October 18, 2026, DEA had temporarily scheduled mitragynine pseudoindoxyl, MGM-15 and MGM-16 (effective August 26, 2026). On October 14, 2026 it published a notice of intent to temporarily schedule 7-OH and mitragynine pseudoindoxyl above a threshold (more than 1 mg per gram or per mL, or less than 100 times as much mitragynine as 7-OH); that order cannot take effect before about November 13, 2026. DEA has said its action does not override stricter state law. Check the Federal Register for anything newer, and see our overview of kratom laws for sellers for the federal background.

Wholesale buyer checklist for New York

  1. Verify age 21+ with photo ID on every New York sale, online and in person.
  2. Post the required under-21 warning on store counters, product pages, apps and print ads.
  3. Relabel all New York inventory to GBL 398-g before December 19, 2026, including mitragynine and 7-OH amounts.
  4. Get a lab report for each lot and flag anything above 2% 7-OH of total alkaloids or 1 mg per serving.
  5. State on the label whether a product contains synthesized or semi-synthesized compounds.
  6. Screen ship-to addresses against county bans in Nassau, Oneida, Albany, Washington and Rensselaer counties.
  7. For Suffolk County, require accredited batch testing and drop vape and injectable forms.
  8. Watch for the Governor's action on S8925-A and plan for a cap 90 days after signing.

Tell us your products, quantities and ship-to state and we will review the New York rules against your order before we quote.

Request a wholesale quote

New York kratom law FAQ

Is kratom legal in New York?

Yes, statewide for adults 21 and over. Several counties, including Nassau, Oneida, Albany, Washington and Rensselaer, have banned or restricted sales.

What is the minimum age to buy kratom in New York?

21. Sellers must check photo ID and post a sign saying sales to anyone under 21 are prohibited.

Does New York limit 7-OH?

Not yet statewide. S8925-A would ban products above 2% 7-OH of total alkaloids or 1 mg per serving. It passed both houses in June 2026 and awaits the Governor.

What must a New York kratom label show?

From December 19, 2026, labels need the mitragynine and 7-OH amounts, ingredients, the maker or distributor, warnings, and whether synthesized compounds are present.

Does New York require kratom testing?

There is no statewide testing rule, but Suffolk County requires accredited third-party testing of every batch.

Can New York counties ban kratom?

Yes. At least six counties acted in 2026, using local laws or public health orders. Check the county for each ship-to address.

How we verified this page

We checked the sources below on October 18, 2026. Where a primary source (a statute, bill text or agency release) was available we relied on it, and we say so when a detail comes from news coverage or a secondary summary.

What we have not confirmed yet
  • Whether the Governor has signed or vetoed S8925-A, and its effective date if signed.
  • The exact start date of the 21+ law; about June 17, 2026 is computed, not confirmed.
  • The final font and placement rules in GBL 398-g after the 2026 amendment, and which agency enforces it.
  • Nassau County's local law number, signature, effective date and whether it covers all kratom.
  • Law numbers, dates, scope and penalties for Washington, Rensselaer and Dutchess counties; how long Albany's order lasts; and the Saratoga outcome.
  • Rules in other counties, towns and cities, including any New York City rule.
  • Whether New York follows federal temporary scheduling of MP, MGM-15 and MGM-16 on its own.

This page is general information, not legal advice. Laws change often and vary by city and county. Confirm the current rules with qualified counsel before you sell or ship, and recheck on a schedule.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Sold to businesses and adults 21 and over only. We do not ship to states or localities where sale is prohibited.